The Spice Girls Are Officially Reuniting Again ⋆

The Spice Girls Are Officially Reuniting Again

Ginger, Sporty, Baby and Scary Spice will bring “Girl Power” back for a six-date UK stadium tour in 2019.

The Spice Girls sans “Posh Spice” have officially reunited. The all-girl English pop group made the announcement with a video posted across their social media pages on Monday with the caption, “Breaking Spice news… Tickets on sale Saturday 10.30am ✌? #GirlPower #FriendshipNeverEnds”.

Formed in 1994, the group comprised of Melanie Brown (“Scary Spice”), Melanie Chisholm (“Sporty Spice”), Emma Bunton (“Baby Spice”), Geri Halliwell (“Ginger Spice”), and Victoria Beckham, née Adams (“Posh Spice”). Due to Beckham’s absence, English singer Jess Glynne will serve as a special guest on the group’s June 2019 tour.

Beckham to her credit, posted a message on her Instagram page wishing the girls the very best for the reunion tour, confirming she won’t be linking up. “I won’t be joining my girls on stage again but being in the Spice Girls was a hugely important part of my life and I wish them so much love and fun as they go back on tour next year,” she wrote.

The English group’s first hit was “Wannabe” in 1996 which hit number one in 37 countries and firmly set them up for global success, with their debut album Spice selling more than 31 million copies worldwide, becoming the best-selling album by a female group in history.

The song was completed in just thirty-minutes as the group had written and composed parts of the song beforehand. Brown described it as a sudden creative frenzy”.

The word “zigazig-ah” in the song was created as the group was “having a laugh” and making “up silly words” according to Chisholm. She added, “We were in the studio and it all came together in this song.” In the end, “Wannabe” was recorded in less than an hour.

If you want to learn the inspiration behind other famous songs, you’ll like our article about who inspired hit songs.

Spice Girls Tour Dates:

  • June 1, 2019 – Manchester, UK @ Etihad Stadium
  • June 3 – Coventry, UK @ Ricoh Stadium
  • June 6 – Sunderland, UK @ Stadium of Light
  • June 8 – Edinburgh, UK @ BT Murrayfield Stadium
  • June 10 – Bristol, UK @ Ashton Gate Stadium
  • June 15 – London, UK @ Wembley Stadium